Laity Commission Day Celebration at Laity Centre Gunadala

The Laity Sunday Celebration took place on 14th July, 2018 at Laity Centre, Gunadala. The celebration began in the morning at 10a.m. with the ceremonial praise and worship session organized by Sri Balaswamy and his team. Fr. Matta Lazar, Director, Radio Maria Vijayawada, delivered the keynote address. He spoke about the “ Role of the Laity in the Church.” In a speech laced with quotes and anecdotes culled from various scholarly sources, he presented the changing view of the church with regard to the role that could be played by the Laity in the church because “ Laity is the church.” After the Keynote address, His Lordship Most Rev. Dr.ThelagathotiJoseph Raja Rao S.M.M. was welcomed by the Laity. The annual report of various lay organizations of the diocese was then presented. The Laity commission report was presented by Dr. Maddala Anthony, the outgoing General Secretary of the Laity commission. Catholic Association NBCLC report was presented by Mr. G.Ashokvardhan from Bantumilli parish, Legion of Mary report by Sri Koteswara Rao (Moses), Vincent de Paul by Sri Mario, Newman’s Association by Sri E. Mariani, Retired Catholic Employees Association report by Sri Ch. Chinnappa and Prison Ministry report by Sri BandiBabu Rao.

Speaking on this occasion, His Lordship Most Rev. Joseph Raja Rao Thelagathoti, SMM, spoke about the proactive role of the Laity in the church. He advised the Laity leaders of the diocese to be selflessly driven so that that they contribute to the growth of the Church at the local and the diocese level. He advocated the concept of ‘Dialogue’ to solve any issues amicably. The Priests and the laity leaders should go hand in hand and guide the Church in the way it should go in Christ-like spirit.

Dr. Maddala Anthony, the outgoing General Secretary and Mr. YepuriYesupadam, the outgoing Secretary of the Laity commission of the diocese were felicitated by His Lordship Joseph Raja Rao for their immense contribution to the commission. While the incumbents Mr.Repudi Vijaya Kumar of Labbipeta parish, Dr.Garikimukku Ashok Vardhan of Bantumilli parish and Mr.M. Jaya Raju from Ranigarithota parish were officially declared as the Secretaries of the Laity commission. These laity leaders who received training in laity related activities conducted at NBCLC, Bangalore, will be in office for three years. Newman’s Association sponsored a cash NEWS IN VINCULO CHRISTI 17 AUGUST 2018 prize of Rs 1000/- each for four girls for their meritorious result in SSC and they were given away by His Lordship. Fr. Swaminadham, the director thanked Fr. Matta Lazar for the wonderful talk, Mr. Maddala Anthony, the outgoing General Secretary, Mr. YepuriYesupadham, the outgoing secretary for valuable service to this commission for the past 22 years. He also congratulated the New secretaries namely Mr. R.Vijay Kumar, Mr.G.Ashok Vardhan and Mr. M. Jayaraju. Special thanks were rendered to His Lordship for his availability, guidance and support to the commission. He thanked Fr. Eleti William Jaya Raju, Rector of the GunadalamathaShrine for the providing the hall to conduct the meeting. Sri TJS.Alankara Rao proposed the vote of thanks and the celebration ended with the final blessing by the Bishop. A delicious lunch was served to all the Lay Leaders.

Fr. I.M.Swaminadham,
Director of the Laity Commission, Vijayawada Diocese