Patron : Holy Cross
Parish Priest : Rev. Fr. Polimetla Christu Raju
Address : Catholic Church
VIJAYAWADA – 520 015
Telephone no : (0866) 256 82 38

Catholics : 2845
Chapels : 02
Catechists : 01
Substations : 06

➢ St. Ann’s Convent (Sisters of St. Ann, Luzern)
➢ St. Joseph’s Convent (Joseph Nagar) (St. Ann’s of Phirangipuram)


Ajitsinghnagar, (1958) a low-income housing colony on the north-eastern outskirts of Vijayawada town, came into existence in the early 1960s and was an outstation of Pezzonipeta parish. On 08 May 1963 Msgr. A. Bianchi PIME, the Vicar General, blessed and opened in this colony a Rural Health Centre set up by the sisters of St. Ann of Luzern. The foundation stone for the future Church (a shed) was laid on 01 Jan 1972. Fr. V. Pagano, residing at Pezzonipeta at that time, contributed Rs. 11,000/- to the raffle organized to raise local funds for the Church. Credit for having constructed the Parish House and the Church goes to Fr. Sebastian Kottoor who was in charge of Pezonipeta at that time. Ajitsinghnagar was canonically erected into a parish in June 1978. The foundation stone for the parish Church was laid on 4 January 1977, by Rt. Rev. Msgr. Aristide Pirovano, superior General of PIME. The Parish Church was blessed on 21 December, 1977 by Bishop Joseph Thumma on occasion of the Silver Jubilee of his priestly Ordination. Since June 1980 the parish has been under the pastoral care of the MSFS Fathers. The interior of the parish church was renovated by Fr. Joseph Karachira in 1992 and the Jubilee Memorial Grotto was constructed and it was blessed by Most Rev. Prakash Mallavarapu on 23rd March 2003. Shanthi Nagar church was renovated, a compound wall constructed and on either side of the gate a statue of Infant Jesus was erected on 2nd February 2006 and another statue of St. Anthony was erected on 17th June 2006. The Church was extended by Rev. Fr. Joseph Karachira and was blessed by Most Rev. Prakash Mallavarapu on 13th April 2007.

Substations: 06
Shantinagar (1980), Payakapuram, L.B.S. Nagar, New Rajiv Nagar, Old Rajiv Nagar, Vambay Coloney.

Former Parish Priests:

Fr. Augusto Zanini PIME (June 1978 – May 1980)
Fr. Devassy Ayelakunnel MSFS (Jun 1980 – July 1983)
Fr. Jose Edasseril MSFS (Jul 1983 – Jun 1984)
Fr. Joeph Nellimalamattam MSFS (Jun 1984 – Jun 1987)
Fr. Thomas Cherukat MSFS (Jun 1987 – Nov 1987)
Fr. Joseph Kuzhupil MSFS (Nov 1987 – Apr 1988)
Fr. George Parackal MSFS (Apr 1988 – May 1990)
Fr. Karachira Joseph MSFS (May 1990 – Oct 2007)
Fr. Thomas Vazhayil MSFS (Oct 2007 –
Fr. Maddineni Anand Prasad, MSFS – May 2017)
Fr. Polimetla Christu Raju ( May 2017 –